top of page

Three Girls in the City

   "Hey I'm at the bus station, I'm going to figure out the public transportation. Want to come figure it out with me?"

   "Sure, let me put some real people clothes on first."

(shoutout to friends who make you do stuff with them randomly!)

   We braved the public transportation people. And we came back in one piece.

 This is Gabrielle, she is also an NSE participant and she hails from Wisconsin! Go Lower 48!

   We had to figure out which one would take us downtown, but once we caught the bus it was a straight shot!

   Let me tell ya, there are some interesting people on the bus. We are pretty sure we overheard a guy talk on the phone to no one for twenty minutes.

   It was pretty cool to walk around downtown Anchorage. We felt like real city gals. Of course, we hit up a souvenir shop because we're still tourists!

   We also went to the mall and wow, it was incredible. Five stories and so many stores!!! Plus, that's only one of many malls around Anchorage. So. Much. Potential. Shopping. (Dangerous.)

   After the mall, we started making our way to the suggested dinner spot but got sidetracked by an artist market on the way there! I was starstruck meeting Sven from Frozen. My first Alaskan celebrity sighting!

   We got dinner at Brown Bag Sandwich Company. It was so cool and so GOOD!

   The inside was so cool, I felt like I was in New York City and not Alaska. We were actually the only ones eating at the time so we had the place to ourselves.

   I'm honestly not a huge sandwich fan, but there is a place in Columbia that I really like so I tried to recreate the sandwich I get there. It turned out different because they grill the sandwiches like paninis. They were delicious! Writing this makes me want another... every sandwich is $10!

   Then Marissa mentioned ice cream and I HAD to stop. 

   The description for chocolate had me sold. Chocolate IS an important part of every day!

   Now to find a bus back to the dorm... we got on one that we thought was correct but after asking the bus driver we found out we were not in the right place. He was nice enough to let us on and take us to the transfer center.

   Luckily, we made it back to the dorms but not before some guy in the middle of the road tried attacking our bus... always an adventure!


bottom of page